Cock o'the North Road Races – Saturday

After the wall to wall blue skies and sunshine of the past week, competitors and all involved with the Cock o'the North Road Races were greeted with overcast and cooler conditions as practice and qualifying got underway at Oliver's Mount at 9.00am on Saturday.

The first two races of the afternoon were 8 lap heats for the 600 'Junior' machines which were won by Jamie Hamilton from Ivan Lintin and Daniel Frear and Dean Harrison from Michael Pearson and James Cowton.

The first of the first-leg races then followed, the combined Formula 400 and Ultra Lightweight (125cc) over six laps. Chris Palmer got the hole shot and held in to Mere Hairpin and continued to lead at the opening lap by 2.00 seconds from Justin Waring with Nick Anderson third.

The lead had been cut to 1.8 seconds a lap later with positions staying static. At half distance the gap had been extended to 2.1 seconds and a further second was pulled out by the end of the fourth lap.

At the chequered flag it was Chris Palmer from Justin Waring and Nick Anderson – the winning margin 3.044 seconds.

Next up was the first leg of the Allcomers race again over eight laps. Jamie Hamilton got the hole shot into Mere Hairpin, and the red flags came out towards the end of the opening lap.

The restart over six laps saw Dean Harrison and Jamie Hamilton go into Mere side by side, and it was Harrison ahead of Hamilton at the end of the lap by 1.5 seconds with Mick Goodings third, followed by Jules Croft, Jamie Coward and Craig Shirlaw. The leader's advantage increased to 2.885 seconds by the conclusion of the second lap, with positions remaining the same. At half distance the lead was up to 5.5 seconds, with no change in positions. At two-thirds distance the gap was up to 8.6 seconds, as Jamie Coward moved into fourth ahead of Jules Croft. At the end of the penultimate lap Harrison enjoyed a 11.8 second lead as Craig Shirlaw took over fourth place from Jamie Coward. At the chequered flag Harrison took the victory by 15 seconds from Jamie Hamilton and Mick Goodings.

Race 5, the first leg of the SuperTwins, saw Dean Harrison take the hole shot and lead into Mere Hairpin from Ivan Lintin and at the end of the opening lap of eight Lintin held the lead by 0.6 of a second from Harrison and Jamie Hamilton. Craig Shirlaw, James Cowton and Daniel Frear completed the top six.

Next lap and Lintin held the lead by the same margin, with James Cowton now fourth from Frear and Behan as Dean Harrison shattered the lap record held by Ryan Farquhar.

Lap three and Lintin improved on the lap record as he extended the lead to .0896 of a second.

Lap four, and the gap had extended again to 1.390 seconds, with Jamie Hamilton still third 12 seconds down.

Lintin bettered the lap record again on the fifth lap and added to his lead, now up to 2.081 seconds

Lap six and the lead had been reduced to 1.2 seconds as Hamilton slipped further back in third.

Lap seven and the advantage was now over 4 seconds and on the last lap the red flag was shown. The result was declared at the end of the seventh lap, Ivan Lintin, Dean Harrison, Jamie Hamilton.

Race six, the first leg of the Junior (600cc), over eight laps. Jamie Hamilton led the pack out of Mere Hairpin but it was Dean Harrison who led at the end of the lap by 1.5 seconds from Hamilton with James Cowton third.

The top six were made up of Frear, Coward and Lintin.

The end of lap two and Dean set a new lap record as he increased his advantage over Hamilton to 3.9 seconds.

Harrison had a 6 second lead at the end of the third lap, but from Cowton, with Hamilton now third. Then the red flag was shown again – rider OK! The re-run over four laps saw Dean Harrison leading at the end of the first lap, followed by Jamie Hamilton and Daniel Frear. The lead stood at 2.14 seconds.

Half distance it was still Harrison now with a 3.7 second lead and a lap later, Harrison had opened the gap to 4.74 seconds. At the flag it was Dean Harrison, Jamie Hamilton and Daniel Frear who took the podium places.

Race seven was the first of three legs for the F2 Sidecars, Formula Two British Champions Ian and Carl Bell had the pole position and got the holeshot and held the lead at the end of the first of the six Iap by 1.4 seconds from Conrad Harrison and Lee Patterson. A Iap later the lead had increased to 4.335 seconds.

At half distance, the advantage was up to 6.7 seconds with third place man Dean Lindley third a further 10 seconds back.

Lap four and the lead was up to 10 seconds and a lap later the gap was up to 13 seconds and at the flag lan and Carl Bell took the victory by 14.295 seconds from Conrad Harrison and Lee Patterson.

Race 8 the Lightweight first leg saw Phil Harvey take the victory over James Cowton by 5 seconds with Paul Coward third.

The final race of the day was the Non Qualifiers Race saw Steven Procter take the victory from Dutch newcomers Jochem Van Den Hoek and William Monie.