TYCO BMW TO FORGE AHEAD WITHOUT GUY MARTIN AT 2016 TT
Malcolm Offline
Administrator

Threads: 18,390
Guy Martin to miss TT2016
[Image: guytomisstt.jpg]

Guy Martin has confirmed he won’t ride at this year’s TT.

In a statement on his Facebook page the Lincolnshire ace confirmed he would instead be undertaking the Tour Divide ultra-mountain bike race in America which starts on Senior Race day.

Martin’s post said:

‘Plenty of folk have been asking what I’m up to this year.

‘I fancy a change of scenery. I’ve been racing the TT for 11 years. All I’ve really done since I was 18, except the trucks, is race motorbikes and my brain needs something else.

‘Every year’s the same: testing, racing, then start again. It brought it home to me when I was lying in hospital after the Ulster Grand Prix crash. I’ve been on about the Tour Divide, the toughest pushbike race in the world, for three years and I thought I’ll blink and next thing I’ll be 45, so I’m going to do it this year.

‘I like breaking myself mentally and the Tour Divide will be tough, but it’s same time at TT, so that’s forced me to make a choice.

‘I’m not done with motorbikes. I’m attempting the Wall of Death record in the spring and having a go at the land speed record in the summer and if I do race on the roads it will be with TAS.

‘After the Tour Divide I might never want to see a pushbike again - or never want to go road racing again, I don’t know. But I do know Bruce Anstey and John McGuinness are still racing the TT, and they’ve got a few years on me, so maybe I’ll come back next year. Or maybe I’ll find something else interesting to do. I’ve got more interests than just motorbikes and I just think let’s bloody have ‘em.

‘Thanks very much as ever for the support.’

[Image: iomtodaynewlogo.jpg]
19-01-2016, 01:29 PM
Website Find Reply
Malcolm Offline
Administrator

TYCO BMW TO FORGE AHEAD WITHOUT GUY MARTIN AT 2016 TT
[Image: guyontasattt.jpg]