Raul Fernandez wins in Valencia, Gardner crowned Champion
Malcolm Offline

Posts: 20,579
Threads: 18,390
Joined: Oct 2005
Reputation: 0
Raul Fernandez wins in Valencia, Gardner crowned Champion
[Image: Moto2FinalReport.jpg]

It was a tense showdown between the Red Bull KTM Ajo duo but the Australian takes the 2021 Moto2™ crown

In a tense, red-flagged race at the Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana, Remy Gardner (Red Bull KTM Ajo) was crowned the 2021 Moto2™ World Champion after finishing P10 on Sunday afternoon. Teammate and title rival Raul Fernandez won for an incredible eighth time to finish just four points down in the overall standings, as Fabio Di Giannantonio (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) and Augusto Fernandez (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) claim podiums.

Raul Fernandez wins the battle, Gardner wins the war

The Moto2™ title-decider got underway but a crash that involved Marco Bezzecchi (SKY Racing Team VR46), Xavi Vierge (Petronas Sprinta Racing) and Lorenzo Baldassarri (MV Agusta Forward Racing) brought out the red flags, with an oil spillage occurring between Turns 2 and 3. All riders were ok, a brief pause in proceedings happened with a clean up operation underway, before the race got back underway.

However, after claiming his first pole since 2012 on Saturday, Simone Corsi (MV Agusta Forward Racing) pulled into pitlane after the warm up lap – and the experienced Italian was out of the race with some sort of issue. On track, Augusto Fernandez led Raul Fernandez into Turn 1, with the latter taking the lead at Turn 6 on Lap 2. Gardner, meanwhile, made a steady start and was ninth.

Raul Fernandez wasn’t having it all his own way though. Di Giannantonio came through on the Spaniard to lead on Lap 4, with Gardner slipping backwards. Jorge Navarro (Termozeta Speed Up), Sam Lowes (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) and Tom Lüthi (Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team) all passed Gardner and suddenly, the Australian was P11 – and had former teammate Tetsuta Nagashima (Italtrans Racing Team) swarming all over the back of him. Still, though, as things stood – Raul Fernandez P2, Gardner P11 – the title was heading to Gardner.

With six laps to go, Gardner found a way past Lüthi at Turn 4 into P10. The top three – Diggia, Raul Fernandez and Augusto Fernandez – were split by nothing, with Celestino Vietti (SKY Racing Team VR46) 1.2s back on the podium scrap in P4. Then, with four to go, Raul Fernandez pounced on Diggia at Turn 2. A classic block pass from the Spaniard saw him take the lead, but with Gardner 10th, it still wasn’t enough. Gardner, in turn, was two seconds behind Marcel Schrötter (Liqui Moly Intact GP) in ninth, and 0.6s ahead of Nagashima in 11th.

Two laps to go. Raul Fernandez P1, Gardner P10. Diggia and Augusto Fernandez were still in touch with the race leader, while Gardner was keeping Nagashima at bay.

Last lap. 0.3s was the advantage Raul Fernandez held over Diggia and Augusto Fernandez, Gardner was still 10th – good enough. The biggest lap of Gardner’s life was coming up, Raul Fernandez was holding up his end of the bargain, so was Gardner. Raul Fernandez crossed the line to take a wonderful, mesmorising eighth victory of the season, but taking the chequered flag in P10 was the 2021 Moto2™ World Champion – Remy Gardner!

The final point scorers in 2021

Diggia and Augusto Fernandez rode superbly to finish just behind Raul Fernandez in P2 and P3, rookie Vietti ends his campaign with an equal-best result in P4. Aron Canet (Inde Aspar Team) rounded out the top five, with Vierge finishing P6 despite being involved in the red-flagged crash, a great result for the Spaniard who heads off to WorldSBK in 2022.

Lowes, Navarro and Schrötter crossed the line in 7th, 8th and 9th receptively, before Gardner claimed 10th. It was a nervy race, but 10th was more than good enough. Nagashima claimed P11, Lüthi – in his final Grand Prix – notched up P12 as we bid a fond farewell to the fourth highest Grand Prix appearance maker. Stefano Manzi (Flexbox HP40), Marcos Ramirez (American Racing) and WorldSBK-bound Hafizh Syahrin (NTS RW Racing GP) claimed the final points.

A simply outstanding title race between Gardner and Raul Fernandez ends with the Australian coming out on top. A truly staggering season by both, as we get ready to watch them both move to MotoGP™ with Tech3 KTM Factory Racing in 2022.

Top 10:

1. Raul Fernandez (Red Bull KTM Ajo)
2. Fabio Di Giannantonio (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) +0.517
3. Augusto Fernandez (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) +0.786
4. Celestino Vietti (SKY Racing Team VR46) +2.393
5. Aron Canet (Liqui Moly Intact GP) +4.978
6. Xavi Vierge (Petronas Sprinta Racing) +5.091
7. Sam Lowes (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) +5.415
8. Jorge Navarro (Termozeta Speed Up) +5.808
9. Marcel Schrotter (Liqui Moly Intact GP) +7.941
10. Remy Gardner (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +9.112


14-11-2021, 04:13 PM
Website Find Reply

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)