'Hizzy'
Anonymous
Unregistered

'Hizzy'
I am but a lowly motorcycle racing artist that, amongst others, sold Steve Hislop signed prints. Steve and I had an informal business arrangement that he would sign them for me for a fee for me to sell. According to Adam Duckworth of Motor Cycle news I am 'scum' because that is how I make my living.... Making 12 pages of details available some of which we would rather not know about, his accident in minute details rather than an a celebration of his career and life, was not about selling extra copies was it?
Steve was a wonderful down to earth person and a fantastic rider whom I admired and respected. I like many are devasted at his loss. I attended his funeral in Harwick and said my goodbyes at his graveside.
I was the first person he spoke to after getting the sack from the Virgin Yamaha team at Rockingham as he did a book and print signing on my stand there after the racing. I was also trying to contact him on his mobile when he had gone on that fateful day.
If you are in the Adam Duckworth mold I can put my hand up and say that I have committed myself to the administrators of his memorial fund, both in the short and long term. Scum I maybe but I cared a great deal for Hizzy.
RIP Steve God Bless.
Jim Blanchard
12-08-2003, 11:38 PM
Anonymous
Unregistered

Re: 'Hizzy'
YES A GOOD CASE OF BAD REPORTING WE WILL NOT BE BUYING MCN ANY MORE BUT WILL KEEP TABS ON FUTURE INSENSITIVE SENSATIONAL ATTEMPTS TO SELL PAPERS GOD SPEED HIZZY
13-08-2003, 03:25 AM
Anonymous
Unregistered

Jim.

To those of us who know you, we know that you are not "scum" and not someone out to make a fast buck through sensationalism.

We know your background and how you play your part in the community of motorcycling. So have no fear of anyone from here calling you what others have referred to you as.