Is there an error in the TT regs ?
cargo
Unregistered

Is there an error in the TT regs ?
I'm no expert but I do read the regs and I've spotted something.

As the regs currently stand the new 2008 Ducati superbike is excluded from TT 2008..................don't believe me read on.

This is a little complicated and also I think it proves that I'm right in my belief that stupid FIM, MCRB over complex rules for Superbikes and Superstocks are a foolish waste of both time and money.

Here is what it says in the TT regs for the Superbike race.....

"TT Superbike Race
For machines complying with 2008 FIM World Superbike regulations and/or 2008 MCRCB Superbike regulations with the amendments specified in Appendix A of these TT regulations

Over 750cc up to 1000cc 4 cylinders 4 stroke
Over 750cc up to 1000cc 3 cylinders 4 stroke
Over 800cc up to 1000cc 2 cylinders 4 stroke."

Simple enough dont you think...................... not really.

A quick look at the MCRCB website reveals the following information for Superbikes regarding capacities

" Displacement Capacities
They must be :-
4 cylinder over 750cc up to 1000cc 4 stroke
2 cylinder over 750cc up to 1200cc 4 stroke "

And also on the FIM website the capactiy information for Superbikes

"Over 850 cc up to
1200cc 2 cylinders "

Now those of you with a keen eye will have spotted that 1200cc twins are permited in the Superbike class at MCRB and FIM but at the TT 1200cc twins are NOT allowed in the Superbike class.

Basicly what it means is anyone with a 1200 twin which includes the new 2008 Ducati can't do the TT Superbike race I think also the Bluell would be excluded too.

Micheal Rutter is riding 2008 Ducati this year ? Not at the TT he isn't

Oh dear me just a few weeks into the job and already ACU Special Events have boobed.
27-01-2008, 08:36 PM
PeterCourtney Offline

Threads: 15