Difficult weekend for Motorpoint Yamaha
Malcolm Offline
Administrator

Threads: 18,390
Difficult weekend for Motorpoint Yamaha
[Image: robmacracinghdr.jpg]

The two young riders flying the flag for the Motorpoint Yamaha team had a tough weekend at the notoriously difficult Donington Park.
The super fast sections of Donington Park warrant a high level of confidence and commitment, both riders worked hard to find a feeling from the bike to give them the confidence they needed and it was not until the final race that the lap times started to come.

Tommy Bridewell 14th race 1 11th race 2

“That was such a frustrating weekend, I had forgotten how difficult Donington is on a Superbike and the more you get wound up the worse it gets! It was a real tough weekend and I am pleased to see the back of it! The boys worked so hard trying to get me confident and to be fair the race pace was not bad in the end. I wound myself up and expected so much more, in insight I am still learning the bike and maybe should have dealt with it better. Silverstone should be better and I am so up for getting back on the bike”

Alex Lowes 16th race 1 DNF race 2

“I can’t believe I got sucked into the Donington head mix up! It is the classic scenario, push too hard go slower! Everyone who has ridden Donington has suffered this at some time! I guess I was trying to do my best the first time on the bike And got sucked into being too aggressive at the wrong places.

Race two I got caught up in the first corner crash and finished the first lap nearly last, that made me concentrate and I rode so much better, the lap times came and I was making good progress until we had a mechanical failure. I am sure we have the pace and I will not let Silverstone mess me up”!

Rob Mac Team manager