Camper van
Chrisp955 Offline

Threads: 21
Camper van
So this will be my 1st Manx and the 1st time iv been to the island without my bike. I'm on the 2am tomorrow morning. I'm looking at parking the van up in a different place each night. It's a VW That 5 so not a big van. I'm trying to avoid campsites . Any one got any recommendations for over night parking with a good view and maybe a pub in working distance. Iv always stayed in Douglas so I want to avoid there and try different places. Also any recommendations to watch from with van parking . Thanks chaps and long live TTwebsite
23-08-2023, 10:23 AM
Find Reply
Chris_Sav Offline
Administrator

Threads: 133
RE: Camper van
I'm no motorhome expert on rough camping but there were several motorhomes on the Eastern end of Peel Prom during the TT.

Steady Edddie who used to own a motorhome always praised the views staying at the top of the gravel track at Creneash that leads up to the old abandoned radar station by the Myall Circle.

As far as watching is concerned, there are many places, some chargeable, but the field next to my marshalling point at Laurel Bank 2 is free to use, the entry is just downstream of the marshalling point.

I'm sure others will have suggestions.

Enjoy!
[Image: chris-quill-blue.gif]Laurel Bank II Marshal, Classic TT & Manx GP
23-08-2023, 01:07 PM
Find Reply
Multirider Offline

Threads: 1
The car park at Glen Helen is also close to the course.

@Chris_Sav: I know the Laurel Bank section. But where exactly is Laurel Bank 2? And is it a good photo spot?

Cheers

Rudi
Don´t dream your life, live your dreams!

23-08-2023, 09:54 PM
Website Find Reply
Chris_Sav Offline
Administrator

Threads: 133
Horses for courses! always been one of my favourites as you have the left hander past Laurel bank one followed by the right hander at Laurel Bank two, then glorious noise as they accelerate up to Black Dub.

I like to see the bikes being handled.